Going Home Cancer-Free

I am doing really well post surgery. It’s a bigger incision than I had expected, maybe 10 inches down the middle of my belly with a nice detour around my belly button, and I feel worse than I thought I would. But I don’t care. It won’t last forever and the meds offset the worst of it. 

The best news is that Dr. B came by this morning and said the pathology report showed those lymph nodes did have tumors and he’s super glad they are out. There really aren’t margins to measure with nodes but the surgeon didn’t see anything else when he had me opened up, and the most recent scans have only shown these 2 spots, the ones that are now gone. So I asked Dr B if I could consider myself cancer free and he said please do. Yay!!!!

We will discuss next steps later. I know I will stay on the Lynparza pills and even though they can be harsh, the research shows strong results with these PARP inhibitors preventing recurrences so I’m good with that. And the higher dosage pills are finally available so I can go to 2 tablets a day instead of 16 capsules! He will also consider more Avastin but we will discuss that later. Follow-up scan in a few months. 

Annnnd I’m going home today. Everyone is pleased with where I am 3 days post surgery, so hopefully late today I’ll be in my own house to continue to heal. 

I am so relieved and excited and grateful and still in a bit of shock and completely lit up with joy. I am super clear all of your support and prayers continue to be an integral part of my healing process. Thank you again and again and again. 

9 thoughts on “Going Home Cancer-Free

  1. YOU & your Tenacious TEAM have DONE IT! βœ… K I C K E D cancer’s ASS!! There are not enough Superlatives to describe this J O Y πŸŽ‰ YAY!!!!!!
    πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘ŒπŸ™πŸ‘βœ‹πŸ»πŸ’ͺπŸΌπŸ€™πŸΌβ˜οΈ πŸ€—πŸ˜„πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚. πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘ŒπŸ™πŸ‘βœ‹πŸ»πŸ’ͺ🏼

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

